Maine Philanthropy Center

Building Connections for Maine Grantmakers

Clowes Fund Announces Officers and Directors

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Members of The Clowes Fund, Inc. met recently and elected three new directors to its board: Daniel Clowes, Williamstown, Massachusetts; Una Osili, Indianapolis, Indiana and Veronica Serrato, Sanford, Maine.

The board re-elected the following as directors and officers:

  • Ben W. Blanton, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Edith Bowles, Washington D.C., Vice President
  • Aidan Clowes, Putney, Vermont
  • Alec Clowes, Mammoth Lakes, California, Treasurer
  • Douglas Clowes, Bolton, Massachusetts
  • Edith Clowes, Charlottesville, Virginia
  • Jonathan Clowes, Cushing, Maine, President
  • Samuel Huneke, Washington, D.C., Secretary
  • Carolyn Osteen, Boston, Massachusetts

In addition, the board re-appointed Executive Director Beth Casselman as Assistant Secretary and Program Manager Erin Trisler as Assistant Treasurer.

The Clowes Fund is a family foundation based in Indianapolis that has awarded grants of more than $125 million since 1952.  Its board includes two generations of Clowes family members and community representatives with skills related to its fiduciary responsibilities and its grantmaking priorities, both geographically – Indianapolis, and certain areas in northern New England – as well as fields of interest intent upon building a just and equitable society with a focus on support for immigrants, refugees and asylum seekers.